Frequently Asked Questions
- Where can I download the Handgun Safety Certificate Study Guide?
You can download the guide from California Attorney General's website.
Click here to open the Study Guide | Click here for the CA DOJ Bureau of Firearms website
- What is an FFL?
An “FFL” is a Federal Firearms License. Any firearm must be shipped to a FFL dealer and you must complete the Department of Justice background check.
- Can you ship my firearm direct to me at my home or office?
No, all firearms must be shipped to a verified FFL (Federal Firearm License) holder. The only exceptions are black powder firearms, and then only to approved states.
- How do I arrange to have a local FFL handle my transfer?
You can simply choose an FFL dealer and have them fax a copy of their FFL to (209) 984-0354. Please communicate with your FFL dealer prior to completing your purchase with us. You will want to ask for their approval of the transfer as well as their transfer fee.
- I purchased a handgun from another dealer and want it shipped to you. What do I need to do?
First please make sure it is a handgun on the California Approved List. If it is a California Department of Justice approved, then have us fax a copy of our FFL to the dealer you bought it from. Then once it gets here, we can start the paper work.
- What documents are necessary to show evidence of residency?
Utility bills from within the last 90 days, property deeds, permanent military station orders, lease or rental agreements or government issued permits, licenses or registrations are acceptable proofs of residency that meet the CA DOJ requirements. (NOTE- alien residents, immigrant aliens and non-immigrant aliens must provide residency that also meets Federal guidelines.)
- What is the Safe Handling Demonstration?
The Safe Handling Demonstration is a set of firearm handling skills that must be performed by the purchaser with the gun they are purchasing or with a gun of the same model as the one that is being purchased. The skills include checking that the handgun is empty, unlocking it, loading it with a dummy round, unloading it and relocking it. This demonstration is performed at the time of DROS.
- What is the DROS process?
DROS stands for Dealer Record of Sale. It is the system used by the California Dept. of Justice wherein background checks are conducted for purchasers of firearms. It is also the method in which handgun sales registration information is obtained.
- Is there a limit to the number of firearms that a person can purchase at one time?
California law limits the purchase of handguns to no more than one handgun transferred from a dealer to an individual within any 30-day period. Note- Firearms transferred between individuals, that are transacted through dealers, (known as Private Party Transfers), are exempt from the one-handgun-a-month restriction. California law does not limit the number of long guns (rifles or shotguns) purchased by one person or within any specific time period.
- I am selling my gun to a friend, how do I do it?
Sales conducted between unlicenced individuals are called Private Party Transfers. PPT's must be brokered through licensed dealers. Both parties must be present at the time of the sale. The purchaser bears the cost of the transaction ($40) and must meet all of the qualifications as outlined above. The firearms will remain at B-Bar-Y Traders during the 10-day waiting period.
- Why are some models of handguns not legal for sale in California?
A law dictates that only those guns deemed “not unsafe” may be sold. In order to be listed, handguns must be submitted to the state for testing. Not all manufacturers have submitted each of their models for testing by the state.
- Who is prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms in California?
Persons convicted of felonies or certain misdemeanors, persons addicted to narcotics, persons adjudicated to be mentally defective, persons who are under the restrictions of a temporary restraining order (domestic violence) are amongst the persons who may not purchase or possess firearms.
- I bought a gun from somewhere else. What are your fees?
To use our FFL it is $25.00. The background check is $30.00 and if you did not pay sales tax on the other end, you must pay California sales tax. Also make sure they are willing to do the California Shipment Approval form. We have to have a shipment approval number to accept the firearm. Before you buy somewhere else, check with us first to see if we can get you a better deal.
- What do I need to purchase a handgun.
Handgun purchasers must possess a Handgun Safety Certificate (or qualifying exemption), provide evidence of residency and perform a Safe Handling Demonstration.
- How do I get the Hand Gun Safety Card?
Simple. You take a thirty question test in our store. We have study guides available if you need to do any brushing up. There is a $25.00 fee for the card and it is good for five years.
- What is the minimum legal age to purchase a firearm in California?
18 years of age for rifles or shotguns
21 years of age for handguns